Squid Masala Fry

We are a family of fish lovers and my love for fresh water fish is as deep as my love for sea food.

I was exposed to sea food eating when I was a little girl and from tinned tuna to fresh octopus were a delight for me. Gradually when I started cooking, I began to explore more of Sea food. Another reason for this deep liking is because we are far from seas and its a rare ocassion we get to cook a beautiful fresh salmon or a lobster. So the raritiy became a huge liking when it comes to eating especially when I get to cook it.

Last week we had a few friends home over drinks and food and I decided to make a masala fry for the packet of frozen squid that I got from the store as a starter. I kept it very simple and needless to say it turned out super hit amongst the guests.  The squid rings were cleaned and pre washed so it took care of the cleaning part. I gave a quick turmeric powder added to water wash and it was all ready to be cooked. Its how I did it.

1. 250 gms squid rings, washed with turmeric water and then water drained out properly.

2. Add salt to taste, red chilli powder for colour and heat as well. To this I added coriander and cumin powder and some peanut powder as well. I sprinkled some garlic powder and a pinch of garam masala. Give it a mix and let it stand for about an hour or two.

3. In a wok, add white oil and allow it to heat. Take a bunch of curry leaves and fry them crisp. Keep the leaves aside.

4. In the same wok, add oil if required. As the oil heats up , add the squid mixed with spices. Fry them in medium heat for not more then 3 minutes.

5. Transfer the squid fries into a platter and top it with the fried curry leaves. Give a good squeeze of lemon and its all set to be served.

This came out as a wonderful starter and though I am not a fan of frozen food, this can be my saviour at times.

Tips: To avoid the squid from becoming rubbery and chewy, do not over cook.

Author: Grub Tales by Sanjukta

A Mother by choice, an Entrepreneur by profession and a foodie by birth is what best describes me. My life revolves around my kitchen where I get a sense of freedom to experiment, make mistakes, gain confidence and create. The foodie gene runs deep and that takes me to explore various eating joints, restaurants and bristos etc. The main motive behind this blog is to keep a track of the numerous eateries that I have been to and the culinary experiences I devour. This is just to let other people know about the eating places around us especially in and around Guwahati and my kitchen experiments with many known and lost recipes. Probably you were just waiting for this one!! Enjoy the food journey with Me!

Leave a comment